Colorado Springs
57° F
Light Rain
Light Rain

Bennet among 8 senators voting no on cliff deal

Published On: Jan 02 2013 12:29:58 PM CST
Fiscal cliff House vote

House TV


Colorado's congressional delegation split on the compromise to break the fiscal cliff largely along party lines.
However, Democratic Sen. Michael Bennet was among just eight senators - and three Democrats - who voted against the deal. He said he supported many of the items in the proposal but said he couldn't vote for a deal that didn't include a comprehensive plan to reduce the nation's debt. Sen. Mark Udall voted for it.
In the House, Democratic Reps. Diana DeGette, Ed Perlmutter and Jared Polis voted for the bill. Republican Reps. Mike Coffman, Cory Gardner, Scott Tipton and Doug Lamborn all voted against it.
Lamborn said he voted no because the rushed bill didn't address overspending.
Perlmutter said the production tax credit included in the deal will help create renewable energy jobs.


The views expressed are not those of this company or its affiliated companies. Please note by clicking on "Post" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms.

blog comments powered by Disqus